Occasional Traveler

A collection of my thoughts and photos on travel.

Katz’s Delicatessen

with one comment

May 4, 2009 | More food!  I really wanted to refrain from posting too many pictures of food here since I have a blog dedicated to food (check it out here!), but there are some that I just couldn’t resist!  Katz’s Deli is a MUST try!

I finally tried the famous pastrami and rye!  I was somewhat skeptical at first.  It looks very plain and it isn’t cheap for a sandwich.

But once I took a bite into it, I finally understood what all the craze was about!  The meat was extremely tender!

Katz’s Deli has an interesting system.  Walk in, every person gets a ticket.  When you order, you hand the guy your ticket and he adds your order onto the ticket.  Then, when you leave, you present your ticket (everyone has to present it whether they used it or not), and the person adds up your order.  If you lose your ticket, it’s $50!  We had a scare where we thought we had lost one of our tickets, but luckily, it had just fallen under the table.  Whew!

Written by Jessica

June 20, 2009 at 4:05 PM

Posted in food, Manhatten

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. your blog makes me hungry.
    i haven’t tried this sandwich…

    linda

    June 21, 2009 at 5:31 PM


Leave a Reply

