Occasional Traveler

A collection of my thoughts and photos on travel.

Staten Island Ferry

leave a comment »

May 3, 2009 | The rain didn’t stop us from standing outside on the Staten Island Ferry. I’ve already been up the Statue of Liberty before, and decided for time/money purposes, this time I would just take the free ferry and view the statue from afar.

The downside was that we were quite a ways from the statue, it was raining, and my lens can only zoom in so much.  This ended up being my favorite picture from that trip–

Yep, it’s Monica, my model for the trip, haha.  Jen doesn’t look being in my pictures so, it’ll just be Monica.  Anyway, see the statue blurred in the background?  With the rain, it was hard to get a super clear shot anyway.

I love boats so I enjoyed taking the ferry ride.  They have viewing decks in the front and back of the ferry, but it’s extremely windy in the front.  The ferry is mostly used by commuters so we weren’t crowded by tourists.  I would recommend taking the Staten Island Ferry instead of actually visiting the Statue of Liberty for someone who might have time or money constraints!

Written by Jessica

June 17, 2009 at 12:31 PM

Posted in Manhatten, travel

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

