Occasional Traveler

A collection of my thoughts and photos on travel.

Hotel? Check!

with 2 comments

Success!  And much earlier than I expected.  Actually got it on my first bid on Priceline.com with a 3-star hotel (prior to this, I only tried 4 and 3.5-star hotels).  Maybe I should have tried a lower amount?  Oh, well.

Courtyard by Marriott Boston Downtown/Tremont
$60/night x 3 = $180 + $32.12 (taxes) = $212.12

I checked out the price on their webpage— $179/night for an equivalent room (total for 3 days: $603.86)!

Cost Summary
Airfare (Continental) $317.70
Hotel (Courtyard by Marriott) $212.20
TOTAL $529.90

Now that I’ve gotten the two biggest costs covered for the trip, it’ll be easier to budget/plan the rest of the trip.  Max for this trip is $1,000 but I’m thinking $820 should be enough.  This means 3 days, $96.70 per day for food and activities/attractions.

Written by Jessica

June 5, 2009 at 5:16 PM

Posted in Boston, travel

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. when are you going to boston? funny, i was just there. not a bad town–seems perfect for a weekend or extended weekend.

    there was some nighttime tour through the graveyards that looked pretty cool — i only know bc i was hanging around a graveyard at night when one of them approached. I almost joined the group but decided not.

    the food was pretty good too, must say. also, the imax/aquarium looked neat.

    i love priceline for hotels or for cars. have you seen this website:
    http://www.betterbidding.com/index.php?showforum=103&

    it helps you to price priceline and hotwire.

    V

    June 22, 2009 at 6:06 PM

    • I’m going with my sister to Boston for 3 days at the end of July.

      Where did you eat? I’m looking forward to some yummy lobster rolls and clam chowder!!

      Thanks for the link! I haven’t seen that one though I did use a different page that seems to be similar. I’ve never used priceline until now. Seems pretty good for saving money though!

      Jessica

      June 24, 2009 at 10:50 AM


Leave a Reply

