Occasional Traveler

A collection of my thoughts and photos on travel.

Priceline Negotiator!

with 2 comments

After browsing through Boston hotel prices, I’ve decided it’s time to give Priceline.com a try.

priceline.com

I went to BiddingforTravel.com to get an idea of what other people have paid, and my goal is to get a room for under $80/night at a 3-star hotel (minimum) in Copley Square, Quincy Market, or Boston waterfront.  Someone recently got a 3 1/2-star hotel in Copley Square for $75/night for 7/11-7/13 (Sheraton Boston Hotel).  Orbitz.com shows $186.50/night for the same dates, same hotel!

This is what I tried:

7/30 – 8/02 (3 nights) –> This won’t change.

Quincy Market; 4-star; $60

Quincy Market + Copley Square; 4-star; $65

Quincy Market + Copley Square + Boston Waterfront; 4-star; $70

Quincy Market + Copley Square + Boston Waterfront; 3 1/2-star; $70

I may be lowballing it but whatever, the trip isn’t for awhile so I have some time to play with it.  I did read that sometimes priceline doesn’t get it’s deals in its ‘inventory’ until closer to the date of travel.   Guess we’ll find out!

I’m excited to see how the process works!  Hopefully I can get a good deal…*keeps fingers crossed*

Written by Jessica

June 3, 2009 at 10:56 PM

Posted in Boston, travel

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hope you find a decent price.
    sigh. i miss boston.
    boston was the city i went to after both breakups with doug 🙂 lol so it has healing powers for me

    sweetcynic

    June 4, 2009 at 11:09 PM

    • thanks! so what do you do when you go to boston? do you have friends up there?

      Jessica

      June 5, 2009 at 10:04 AM


Leave a Reply

