Occasional Traveler

A collection of my thoughts and photos on travel.

Family Vacation? Yay!

with one comment

(repost from Xanga)

I’m not even being sarcastic.  There’s ups and downs to traveling with family but considering my financial constraints, I’m all for it!!  Last year, my parents decided they want to start a new tradition of going on annual family vacations.  I immediately jumped at the opportunity to plan the trip.  Prior to this trip, the only trip I had really done extensive planning for was a two week roadtrip from Houston to Los Angeles with a budget of around $1,100 per person.

This time, I was given a budget of $3,000, along with my dad’s AA mileage to drastically reduce air fare.  After extensive research, I put together a week-long vacation plan to Oahu Island, Hawaii.  I have to admit, I was rather pleased with myself and I felt that all my planning paid off!  The trip was a blast despite minor setbacks (my parents luggage was sent to Japan!) and I was able to try out my new Canon Digital Rebel XT.

The downside of being the photographer of the family is that I don’t end up in being many pictures! Thus, I pushed my mom to purchase the professional photo we took at the Paradise Cove Luau.  I think it came out pretty well (I’m the one with the camera bag and camera hanging from my neck)!

Coincidentally, I recently came across this article: 7 Reasons Why Traveling With Your Parents Isn’t a Bad Idea

Next post: this year’s Thanksgiving trip!

Written by Jessica

May 29, 2009 at 3:35 PM

Posted in Hawaii, travel

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i feel the same way. the one with the camera is never in the pictures. for the most part, that is a good thing, but sometimes it would be nice if I could get a picture of myself that isnt absolutely ugly, taken w/out me asking or being too posed.

    V

    June 22, 2009 at 5:36 PM


Leave a Reply

